About Andaman

Andaman and Nicobar is an archipelago of 572 Islands, Ilets and Rocks. Even though merely 36 Islands are inhabited, it has been one of the most attractive and famous tourist destinations in Asia. Andaman & Nicobar Islands is the largest Union Territory of India, which has more than 80 percent of its land covered with lush green tropical rain forests. Port Blair is the capital of A&N Islands, which is also the main entry point to the archipelago.

There are a diverse number of must-visit places, mesmerising beaches with clean and beautiful waters are the great attractions in Andaman. The activities/games include scuba diving, kayaking, sea walking, snorkelling, trekking, game fishing, mangrove creek safari, water sports, glass bottom boat ride, bird watching etc. and the list goes on. Here is the list of islands open for tourism.

  • Little Andaman
  • Havelock Island
  • Neil Island
  • Baratang Island
  • Diglipur
  • Rangat
  • Mayabunder
  • Barren island
  • Little Andaman
  • Great Nicobar
  • Campbell Bay

Being an island territory, Andaman can be reached only by Air or Sea. The flight journey is possible from Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata, Visakhapatnam and Bangalore and drops you at Veer Savarkar International Airport in Port Blair. Flights from Kolkata and Chennai take usually 2 hours to reach Port Blair, but from other cities, they take around five hours to reach the same destination. Even though flight journey takes less time, it is bit expensive compared to seaways, but ensures, you reach quickly without much of hassle.

The seaway is the cheapest option to reach Andaman but the voyage takes around 3 days (Around 72 Hrs) to reach Port Blair. In addition, the sea journey also disturbs the health of many due to seasickness. Shipping services are available from Chennai, Kolkata and Visakhapatnam to Port Blair. Normally sailing schedules are announced 1 month in advance for the Mainland-island sector and 5 days in advance for the inter-island (for the southern group of islands ie. Port Blair - Nicobar, Nancowry, Katchal, Campbell Bay) sector and 3 days in advance for the foreshore sector (Port Blair - Diglipur, Mayabunder, Rangat, Neil, Havelock, and Hut Bay.